2017 Reading Resolutions

I know what you’re thinking. Nathan mate, your last post was literally a half an hour rant about how you didn’t meet any of your resolutions last year, well, here we are, plot twist, here are my 2017 reading/bookish resolutions.

  1. Read Whatever The Fuck You Want – Last year as I discovered Booktube, blogs and everything else, I became very aware of a hell of a lot of books for the first time. People were discussing new releases, favorites, classics, etc and I thought, oh shit, I really don’t know much about any books at all. So I panicked thinking I was the worlds worst reader and that I needed to buy and read ALL THE BOOKS EVER. This was dumb. I ended up buying a lot of books I haven’t looked at since, that if left to my own devises I probably never would have encountered, and most certainly never have read. That kind of idea that I need to be reading what everyone else is and keeping up with the books everyone is talking about has very much floated off into the atmosphere and is no longer a factor for me. Booktube and book blogs are incredible sources of recommendations and reviews, and of course I’ll still be watching out for this type of content, but I won’t be trying to buy everything ever mentioned because if I don’t I’m the worst reading in the world and I might as well burn down a library with myself inside (sorry, that went very dramatic very quickly). Basically, I’m going to read what I feel I’d enjoy, because I WANT TO READ IT not because I have to. Putting pressure on myself reading wise is going to be a running theme throughout this I can see it now.
  2. Do Not Make Unrealistic Goals For Yourself – This is one that sums up pretty much all of my 2016 resolutions. Like ‘Read 60 Books’ WHAT THE FUCK NATHAN. There are only 52 weeks in a year when on average do you EVER read more than one book in a week?! Honestly I’d like to time travel to the year younger version of myself who wrote that and throw 60 books at his head one by one until he realises how outrageous he was. I mean, uni finishes next year, maybe I will be able to read a huge amount of books, but I don’t be stressing myself out about a goal and not meeting it. This year saw me reading awful graphic novels just so I could add one to my read list like I was in some kind of race and competing like WHO THE FUCK CARES HOW MANY BOOKS YOU READ NATHAN CALM YOURSELF DOWN.
  3. Do Not Be So Precious About Books – My books stay EXACTLY the same from when they’re bought to when they are read and put back on my shelf. No corner is turned, no spine is cracked, they are perfect little soldiers lined up in rows. WHY. Why do I make myself uncomfortable whilst reading for the sake of breaking the spine of a £6.99 paperback? And WHY OH WHY do I keep every book ever. If it was trash, and I didn’t enjoy it, it just goes BEHIND THE OTHER BOOKS. Why? What is this corpse of a crappy novel staying on my shelves for? Hidden behind it’s stronger brothers like the runt of a litter, no, they’re out. I won’t be keeping every book I’ve ever bought anymore, because that my friend is not practical in a two bedroom flat in which my boyfriend is acutely aware is slowly being taken over. In short, if books get fucked up it doesn’t matter as long and they’re readable, and any books I don’t like or don’t want anymore will be OUT.
  4. Continue Using The Library – Like I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been using the library quite a bit this past year. I’m not saying I used to effectively, but I used it. I mainly used it for the point raised in number 1, to get hold of that new release everyone is talking about so I can read it NOW BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE IS OVER IT AND I’M AN IRRELEVANT FOOL. Reality is you’ve always been an irrelevant fool Nathan sit down. I’d like to use the library as a source of FREE BOOKS. I mean, I just walk in, flash a card, and I own (for the next three weeks at least) a shit load of new books. What isn’t to love about that? I’m not someone who likes to splash a huge amount of cash at new books (because what even is council tax really I mean do I need to pay it or can I please just go to Waterstones instead?!?!), so the library is a person resource for me. My local one is absolutely tiny, but I can order books in online for like 10p so there really is no excuse not to fully take advantage.
  5. Stop Trying So Hard (You Fake Fuck) – Well, yeah. Honestly in 2016 I tried so fucking hard to become Book Blogger/Tuber/Instagramer/Tweeter OF THE FREE WORLD. I followed account after account hoping for a follow back, I made SHIT blog posts like ‘Quote of the Week’ scouring Google for a fucking life affirming quote from a book I’ve never read by a guy I’ve never heard of, I went to the library and took out a butt load of newish and popular books JUST SO I COULD DO A TBR/HAUL. Just so I had something to talk about on my channel. Just so people wouldn’t think that I’m that douche still trying to get through the 10 books I said I wanted to read last month but have no desire to open. I had a resolution of reading a classic every month, wanna know a secret? I’VE NEVER READ A CLASSIC I ENJOYED. Wuthering Heights was OKAY but I mean STOP WHINING (I saw in a post of 100% whine). So yup, this year I’m going to just chill my book bean, read at my own pace, read the books I genuinely want to read, and just relax, because I’ve come to the realisation that numbers on a screen have nothing at all in life to do with my enjoyment of a book. If people like my content, then they like it, but it’ll be genuine and from me because I wanted to create it, not because I feel I have to.

As you can see, my resolutions are basically ‘Do not do anything you did in 2016’. I also aim to be more consistent in my blogging and vlogging but honestly if I vanish for months on end it is simply because I haven’t read anything or that I have nothing to say. My blog might even evolve next year into content not book related because I might (heaven forbid) never feel like picking up a book again in my life You just don’t know. But yeah, by the end of 2016 I had a lot of realisations about myself and what I was up to and now that I’ve addressed them I feel really excited about the year to come.

Let me know how you got on with your resolutions this year below, and until next time, happy reading guys.

4 thoughts on “2017 Reading Resolutions

  1. Lol. Don’t be too hard on yourself that you got caught up in the book hype when you started blogging n discovered book tube. It happens to all of us, I think. I was like that last year n bought a bunch of shit I still haven’t read yet. Good that the hype is fading from you now. Some of my goals for next year are similar to yours: read what I like, be realistic, use the library n save my damn money. Also I refuse to join a bunch of reading events for next year. I did a bunch this year n failed all except my Goodreads reading goal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nathannnnnjames

      I’m glad I’m not alone haha. I know what you mean about events, I tried booktubeathon and failed and really didn’t enjoy the books I had to plough through really quickly in the process. 2017 is the year of reading for us 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. finished my 2016 Goodreads challenge of reading 151 book early in December and have read just one book so far this month. Hopefully will finish another one tomorrow and 40+h long audio book in Monday or Tuesday.

    My only real goal for 2017 will be 152 books 😀 and of course to participate in some readathons like BookTubeAThon at the end of this year, even

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

