2016 – Wrap Up

2016. What a year. She really wasn’t joking was she…

Image result for kylie jenner realising

But lets not dwell on all that messy stuff we saw, we are here for the books! (Or lack there of).

2016 was very much a rollercoaster year when it came to my reading and the amount I read. I kicked off the year really excited about books, I had just started really getting into this blog, I was considering a Youtube channel, I ate, breathed and slept thinking of books and book related content. I did alright, I set myself a GoodReads goal of 50, I was working my way through the ‘Around the World in 52 Books’ challenge list and really enjoying that. I was on fire.

Then summer came, I had shed my second year of my Open Uni course, which meant the text books were packed up (I wanted to set them alight at dance around it but I needed them to revise goddamnit), and I was free to read whatever I liked. I took part in the Book-Tube-AThon, in which I think I read five books in a week, which..what? How? Who was that person? I read many novels, I was interacting with other Booktubers and bloggers, really getting into the swing of the community and loving my bookish life.

Then, Summer went away.

Image result for third year is coming

The days grew shorter in the blink of an eye and suddenly I found myself drowning in children’s literature theoretical essays, stylistics texts, and all the not-so-fun things that came with my third year modules starting. This year is so intense compared to the previous two. Also you’re technically only meant to do one module a year but I want my degree in three years like a normal human being so I’m taking on twice the work load of the average OU student (don’t worry, I don’t deserve your sympathy, I brought this on myself. You played yourself Nathan). So basically since September I have had no time to read anything other than course related texts, thus bringing my flying reading start to a screeching halt. To be honest with y’all I have two essays due in the first week of the new year and I only have two days off over Christmas (eve and day of) so I have no business exerting energy into this subject now but I need to just not think about that or I’ll never pick another book up again as long as I live.

So Nathan, blah blah blah no one cares about your reading failures, lets get to the wrap up!

Here are a few little stats about my reading in 2016 (please note these numbers do not include any university based reading) –

ORIGINAL GOODREADS GOAL – 50 Books

I thought this would be a challenging but realistic goal. Almost a book a week, and I am not the fastest reader in the world let me assure you of that.

ACTUAL GOAL MET – 39 Books

Only 11 off the goal, not too shabby if I do say so myself. I honestly think I could have reached my 50 goal if I hadn’t grossly underestimated the lack of free reading time I’d have once the summer break was over

BOOK BREAK DOWN –

Short Story Collections – 4

My favorite of which was Carys Bray’s Sweet Home 

Classics – 5

I had set myself the goal of reading a classic a month, that didn’t work out quite the way I planned but I’m still five classics down! 

Poetry Collections – 2

Not many at all, but I’m very much a beginner when it comes to poetry, and the two collections I read this year were absolutely haunting and beautiful. 

Graphic Novels – 6

Not gonna lie, apart from Saga which I enjoyed, I think I just tried to fire through some graphic novels to get my goal count up because I’m a dirty rotten cheat and I panicked when I saw what was going to happen uni wise.

I completely forgot until I remembered I set myself a classics challenge, I made a blog post about my 2016 resolutions! Lets see how I fared –

  1. Read at least 60 books – It seems I was very optimistic and then chickened out when it came to setting the GoodReads goal
  2. Update my blog at least twice a week – HAHAHAHA
  3. Have a monthly TBR – I tried for Jan/Feb, didn’t like not just picking up a book in the moment
  4. Have a monthly wrap up – HAHAHAHA
  5. Spend more time when writing a review – I think I reviewed 10% of the books I read this year…spend ANY time would have been more appropriate
  6. Use a TBR jar every month – My TBR jar now contains caster sugar
  7. Read every book I own in 2015 in 2016 – HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
  8. Read a classic a month – 5/12 not too bad, not too good either
  9. Re-read Harry Potter – I read the illustrated edition of P’s Stone if that counts
  10. Finish The Song Of Ice And Fire series – HAHAHAHA 1.25 books down
  11. Be more active within the book blogging community – I abandoned you all I’m sorry
  12. Visit more book shops – Nope.
  13. Use the library more often – I actually did this! Quiet a lot in 2016
  14. Go to a book festival – 😦
  15. Don’t worry so much – I’m a 3rd year student I do nothing but.
  16. Read for ME – I’m very much down for this idea still, still working on it, I find I slip sometimes but I’m getting better.

Right this wrap up is very much all over the place. I’ll wrap up this wrap up with a list of a few faves from the year –

Favorite Book –

Image result for reasons to stay alive

Favorite Fantasy –

Image result for the name of the wind

Favorite BookTube Channel –

Image result for youtube logo

Honestly I wouldn’t stand a chance choosing just one. I’ve discovered so many content makers in 2016 and I am so excited for what they come up with in the new year

Right I’ve rambled enough. I hope you had a wonderful year, have a beautiful christmas, and an incredible new year.

Fun idea if you’re planning on drinking this new years eve, read this post again and every time I cry about the fact I’m a student, take a shot. I can guarantee intoxication by 1/4 of the way through.

Thanks for an amazing year guys! And I’ll see you all in 2017.

6 thoughts on “2016 – Wrap Up

  1. I think accomplishing what you had this year is pretty impressive especially considering your intense course regimen. I also had a lot of goals coming into 2016 and quite a few of them didn’t pan out that well. There’s always 2017 though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post has pretty much just summed up my life, summer was great. Shedding those second year books like you say and thinking YAY I CAN READ AGAIN?! Now its like third year and the pressure is on, I’ve got 2 essays in for the first week in january as well and I feel like everything is just piling on top of me and i’m drowning but i’m forcing myself to at least read one book I want to read because frankly I would be going insane without some time for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nathannnnnjames

      I feel your pain completely! I’m half way through two books and I’m determined to finish one before the year is through! Good luck with your essays!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

