Book Review – Love Poems by Carol Ann Duffy

GoodReads Rating: Unrated

Let me start off by explain why I didn’t rate this book on Good Reads. This is the first poetry collection I have ever read, I could not be further from an expert on the genre, and therefore I don’t believe it would make sense for me to rate a book that was the starting point in me trying to read poetry for the first time for pleasure, as I have nothing but poems I was/am forced to read by educational institutions to compare these poems to.

I have to admit that some of these poems went straight over my head, but some of them were beautiful, thought provoking, and really shone through as favorites for me. I adored some of the poetry in this collection, If I Was Dead, Tea and Correspondents were a few that stuck out for me and I feel that some of these poems will be ones I go back to again and again.


Or when you’re away, or at work,
I like to think of your cupped hands as you sip,
as you sip, of the faint half-smile of your lips.

I like the questions – sugar? – milk? –
and the answers I don’t know by heart, yet,
for I see your soul in your eyes, and I forget.

– from Tea by Carol Ann Duffy

Some of the poems left like short stories, I was captivated by Duffy’s language and power with words, and I could truly envision the worlds and the people she was creating. I loved the way she haunted me with her words, or made me appreciate the love I have in my own life.

This was a perfect introduction to poetry for me, and I will definitely be looking at reading more collections in the future, especially more of Duffy’s work. She is an outstanding force with words, and I look forward to seeing what effect her other works have on me.

Leave a Reply

