10 Books I Have No Interest In Reading

We post a lot about the books we want to read, our TBRs, books we need to read in our life time, things like that, but what we rarely do is take the opportunity to say which books we DON’T want to read. Be it because you dislike the author’s other work you’ve read or you’re just not interested in the hype, there are some books we just DO NOT EVER DESIRE TO PICK UP EVER…these are ten of mine.

1. Fangirl

Why wouldn’t I want to read a book based on Harry Potter fanfiction?! I have no idea, but I’ve heard this book being raved about SOOOO many times, and it just does not interest me in the slightest. Maybe it’s because I am not the biggest fan of YA, but I’m sure Rainbow Rowell is a stunning writer, this one just doesn’t tickle my fancy.

2. Alice In Wonderland

Yes I KNOW Alice is some peoples favorite book of all time, but honestly, I just think its bizarre and would go completely over my head. Even though its a children’s novel, the movie adaptations I have seen just haven’t done anything for my bookish intrigue. I feel like I’d get confused and the writing would be lost on me…but this opinion is based on films, so maybe I shouldn’t let myself be so influenced by screen adaptations? Still, not one for me I’m afraid.

3. Path Finder

This book sounds like a book that would be perfect for me, but honestly, I refuse to read an Orson Scott Card novel purely based on the fact that he is a homophobic moron.

4. Twilight

I tried okay, but no. I don’t enjoy the vampire genre as a whole. I’M SORRY (not sorry).

5. Looking For Alaska

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed The Fault In Our Stars, but that being said, I’ve felt no desire to go back and read any more of Green’s work. I think I’ve been over-exposed to him at this point and just don’t feel like this book would live up to the expectation now.

6. Anything By Jane Austin

I enjoy a good classic as much as the next guy, I’m a big fan of the Bronte’s work, as well as many other classics, and it is an on going mission for me to read more classics, but the work of Jane Austen just does not appeal to the classic-book-nerd inside me for whatever reason. I don’t like I have anything against her, how would I, I’ve never tried to read her books, but out of the hundreds of classics I have at my disposal, hers are never on my radar (BAD BOOK BLOGGER…BAD!!)

7. The Da Vinci Code

Dan Brown’s books just seem to me like a very complicated, long winded way of telling us he’s clever.

8. Divergent

Another book that has been hyped beyond the realm of being readable. I feel like this will just be a regurgitation of The Huger Games series without anyone announcing ‘Welcome to the 498375829345th annual Hunger Games’. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the Hunger Games books, I’m just not interested in this one. It might not even be remotely like HG, but it is an idea that’s stuck in my head now.

9. The Moral Instruments Series

Are these just a mash up of Twlight and The Hunger Games? That’s the vibe I get, but yeah, another series that has been thrust into my face that much that I can’t be bothered entertaining it.

10. The Perks Of Being A Wall Flower

Is it just a book about teenage angst? I don’t know but I’m too lazy to find out.

 

I know, I know, it isn’t right of me as a reader to restrict myself like this, and to dismiss books for whatever reasons I’ve given.may have, but I do, and I’m probably missing out on some amazing pieces of fiction, but y’know what? At least there’s ten less books out there for me to try and conquer (**evil laugh**)

 

2 thoughts on “10 Books I Have No Interest In Reading

  1. I’ve got to admit I am the exactly the same with John Greens other books, I did love The Fault in Our Stars but since then I bought Paper Towns and it’s just sat on my bookshelf. I don’t feel a desire to pick anything else up.

    Also I got sucked into the hype of Fangirl… and honestly I didn’t really get the hype. I think I gave it 3 stars? I thought it was alright but I didn’t find it absolutely brilliant and I tried picking up The Perks of being a Wallflower and I put it down after a chapter, I just couldn’t get into it.

    Like

    1. nathannnnnjames

      I’m glad I’m not alone! These books are all either ones I’ve popped in a wish list years ago after a moments interest and then never bought/picked up, or ones I know I’d never see to the end because I’m not interested enough. Shocking confessions of book bloggers 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

