Book Review: The Ice Dragon – George R.R. Martin

GoodReads Rating – 2 Stars

Let me start off by saying that I had no knowledge of this book prior to reading, which may have been why I didn’t enjoy it. My own preconceptions probably ruined this book a lot for me, so I shall explain…

This is a short story, with no reference to any of Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire world. It is a middle grade book, which I wasn’t aware of before picking it up, and maybe middle grade isn’t for me and I haven’t really read any as an adult. These two factors are probably what lead to my dislike for this book, as well as the fact that, with it being such a short story, I didn’t connect to Adara or any of the other characters. Adara seemed very cold (no pun intended) and disconnected from the other human characters in the story.

As a lover of fantasy, I was looking forward to huge battle scenes, magic, and all the other fantastical elements I have come to expect from Martin, but they never materialised. Maybe it’s because this book is aimed at children as to why it seems very tame and lacking in plot. I don’t blame George R.R. Martin for my dislike of this book, which is probably why two stars is a little unfair of a rating to give, but The Ice Dragon just left me wondering what a great story this could have been had it been meant for an older readership and taken to places Martin would usually take us in his writing.

I look forward to continuing with the Song of Ice and Fire series and Martin’s other works, but his middle grade story just isn’t for me I’m afraid.

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Ice Dragon – George R.R. Martin

Leave a Reply

