November Book Haul

Hello! Sorry for my lack of postings, work and uni have been MANIC, but that fact hasn’t hindered my book gaining skills one bit. I obtained quite a lot of books over the course of November, some as gifts for my birthday at the beginning off the month (I have already done a full Birthday Book Haul so I’ll just mention those here and not go into detail like I did for that haul) and also books that I bought myself because I HAVE A PROBLEM OKAY?!

Because there are quite a few books from quite a lot of different places I’ll split them into groups, just to make it easier so that you don’t have to read along with me repeating myself over and over again that ‘This was from BLAHBLAH’. So, on with the show…

Birthday Books

My full birthday book haul is HERE but I’ll list the books here also so they’re all in one place.

hisdarkmaterials212652302368870122910900The Knife of Never Letting Go - Paperback - 9781406357981 - Patrick Ness61d0yDESmyL._SX376_BO1,204,203,200_

I got lots of wonderful books from my boyfriend as well as a Harry Potter colouring book from my friend Bethany and The Knife Of Never Letting Go from my boyfriend’s sister. I’m so excited to get into His Dark Materials! Hopefully if I get through my December TBR quick enough I’d like to join in with a HDM read-a-long which the wonderful Jen Campbell is hosting. The Knife Of Never Letting go I have read and falling in love with and my review of it can be seen HERE.

 

Charity Shop Finds

I have always been a lover of getting books from charity shops, as this helps ease the strain on my bank account, helps charity, and lets me indulge in my book buying mania without feeling as guilty as I do when I order from Amazon or elsewhere. I’m going to be doing a full post on book buying in charity shops in the new year so look out for that one. I’m really lucky with a particular shop in my town. The British Heart Foundation shop must have my guardian angel donating to it on a weekly basis because every single time I go, I find a brand new copy of a book which I’ve been meaning to buy for a while, that I don’t see in other book shops around town. It is wonderful, I’d love to meet who ever donates these and thank them for their generosity. Of course when I’m done with some of my books I redonate them back to the shop so I think its quite a lovely cycle of book buying. Anyway I’ll stop blabbering on and get on with the haul. All the books from this section were from the BHF shop mentioned above and they were all £2 each.

17832311.jpg 7089720439328

6801335

The Casual Vacancy I started reading on Kindle a few years ago but put it down what one reason or another but I love J.K. Rowling’s adult writing so I really want to pick it up again and get through it this time.

The Secret History & How To Be Both are both by authors I have heard nothing but amazing things about and these books are forever being praised which compelled me to pick them up.

Alone In Berlin I have never ever heard of but the blurb seemed interesting and I’ve never read any fiction set during the Nazi occupation so I’m really looking forward to seeing what this one is like.

 

Amazon Purchases

I would love to be one of those people who denounce Amazon and purely purchase books from independent book sellers but unfortunately I have not the funds nor the access to do so, as there are no independent book shops in my area, so sadly Amazon is the answer. Don’t get me wrong though, I do enjoy an Amazon bargain as you will see from this extensive list.

Little Black Classics are my new bookish obsession, they’re 80p each and have free postage from Amazon so how could anyone say no to that? I currently order two a week, so far I only have the four above. I’m hoping to collect more if not all of them, and these will hopefully aid me in my 2016 bookish resolution to read more classics. I have read The Yellow Wallpaper already and I quite enjoyed it. I’m really looking forward to The Tell-Tale Heart! Antigone I have read for university last year so I know I’ll enjoy that. Lastly The Great Fire Of London should be a very interesting read for the history buff inside me.

The Narrow Road To The Deep North & The Luminaries are previous Man Booker Prize winners which I have had my eye on for quite some time. I have heard some amazing things about these two on booktube and other blogs.

The Ask And The Answer is the second novel in the Chaos Walking Trilogy, the first of which I have already read and fallen head over heels in love with. I can’t believe I haven’t devoured this yet but I will VERY soon.

The Bone Clocks is my first purchase of a David Mitchell book. Perhaps I might wait until I’ve bought and read The Cloud Atlas before reading this as I’ve heard that all his book are linked together in some way but I am super excited to finally read some of his work.

 

 

2 thoughts on “November Book Haul

    1. nathannnnnjames

      Haha thank you so much! I loved The Knife Of Never Letting Go, it might even be my favourite of 2015! I’ve fallen for Ness’ writing hard. What’s your favourite of his?

      Like

Leave a Reply

