My Local Library 

I spent Monday morning in the centre of town, running a couple of errands. Whilst there I decided to go to the central library, as the one closest to me is really quite small. I hadn’t been into that library for years, and I had forgotten how beautiful the building is.


  
The architecture and details inside are simply beautiful. It made me appreciate libraries. I really enjoyed looking through the shelves and I was surprised by how many very recently published books they had!

I have far too many books on my TBR pile but I couldn’t help myself and got a few books out that I’ve been interested in reading but never really felt the need to buy them.

I got Legion by Brandon Sanderson, which I have already reviewed. The other two that I took out are books that I picked up in Waterstones a couple of weeks ago and loved the sound of but couldn’t justify spending that amount of money when I was just meant to be browsing (I’m on a semi-book buying ban but I don’t count discounted/charity shop books because otherwise I’d get withdrawals and probably go insane). I picked up…

Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes, because how could anyone not be dran in by that tag line! And I also took out…

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North. I have heard some amazing things about this book and I know that the theme of re-birth and coming back after dying is quite popular at the moment so I really want to give this a go.

Hopefully I’ll have finished my book club book in time to read these before they’re due back. I’m very passionate about owning books and looking after my books and seeing them displayed very beautifully because I’m vain like that so getting books from the library that I cannot keep and can’t stay on my shelves looking lovely is an odd notion in my head but I’ll get over it, just like I do when I read an eBook.

So yeah, I have a new found love for libraries. They’re so beautiful. So important. I wish more people would visit them and see them for how integral they are to our society.

2 thoughts on “My Local Library 

    1. nathannnnnjames

      It is stunning isn’t it! Your library looks amazing! I love both classic looking buildings and modern ones too. The picture in the post is of the central library. The one just down the street from where I live is a tiny little one through a doorway in the side of the town hall, its so sweet. I’ll be sure to post a review when I’ve read it and let you know what I think of it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

