Classics TBR

I love reading, as this blog would suggest, but I am ashamed to say that, although I read quite a lot, what I read is usually, mostly, 99.9% modern fiction. I would love to read more classics, I recently read Wuthering Heights for my university course which involves quite a number of other classics, and I quite enjoyed it! It took be longer to read than a book would usually because I wasn’t really reading it out of choice, but in the end it surprised me and I found myself actually enjoying it towards the end.

That being said, here are a few classics that I really want to read. I may even give myself a challenge next year to read at least one classic a month, but we will see! So here we go…

Macbeth – Willam Shakespeare

My primary school did a production of Macbeth a billion years ago and I really fell in love with the story as a child. I would like to read it no as an adult to see how my feelings have changed towards it. I haven’t read any plays for pleasure so that would be interesting as well.

Moby-Dick – Herman Melville

This list is probably going to feature quite a few Penguin English Library edition books because those covers are literally stunning! I really don’t know much about Moby-Dick. I have heard it referenced a lot in TV, film, and on various booktube videos but I really know very little about the story so I would really like to give this one a try and see how I like it.

The Hound of the Baskervilles – Arthur Conan Doyle

I’m about half way through my first ever Sherlock Holmes book for my university class, Sign of Four, and I really love the Sherlock television series so I really want to read the full series. I found an old edition of the full SH collection in a charity book shop last week that lets you take three books for FREE (I make a donation though because WHAT AN AMAZING CHARITY) so I’ll hopefully be starting on that soon. I’ll do a full post about that charity shop soon as it is one of the most amazing places I’ve ever come across in a random shopping small.

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

Another book from my life in primary school that I want to rediscover. I really can’t remember much about it so I’d really like to read this now I’m an adult. I live really close to the Bronte sister’s home as well so that makes me feel like I owe it to them and to myself to read more of their work.

Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen

Just because I feel like I can’t consider reading classics if I’m not going to read an Austin novel.

So there are just a small number of the classics I want to read. The fact that there are lots of stunning editions and collections of classics will probably urge me to buy some soon as i’m a sucker for a beautiful looking book. I’ll keep you informed of my ventures into the world of classics and I’ll probably do another post about some other classics I’d like to read as well in the near future. If you have any favorite classics that you want to recommend please do! I need help easing myself in!

4 thoughts on “Classics TBR

Leave a Reply

