Book Review – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

GoodReads Rating – 5 Stars

Let me start off by saying I AM SO MAD that I didn’t splash out on the illustrated edition of this book! It looks absolutely amazing.

But I am lucky enough that my local library has this edition so in a few months time I plan on rereading the book in that version, I cannot wait.

I’m not really sure where to begin with reviewing this book. This was my first venture into the writing of Patrick Ness and I absolutely fell in love with him as a writer. I plan on reading this Chaos Walking trilogy some time in the new year when I have rid myself of my extensive To Be Read pile.

The story follows Connor, a young boy who is dealing with his mother’s struggle with cancer. Connor meets a monstrous tree who tells him tales of witches and princes, and that is about as much as I want to tell you about the plot because going into this story not really knowing much is really wonderful and adds to the emotion.

This book broke my heart. I felt protective over Connor which I always find fascinating when an author is able to create a character and their surroundings so realistically and beautifully that you cannot help but want to kept them safe. Connor has to deal with illness and fractured family situations that I think many people could relate to and feel emotionally invested in.

I loved this book, a beautiful tale of hope, sadness, and a realistic look at how we deal with the struggles life throws at us, well, as realistic as it can be when involving a talking tree monster. Highly recommended.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

