5 LGBT Themed Books I Want To Read

To be honest with you guys, as a book lover, and as a gay man, I don’t think I have ever read an LGBT themed book. I seem to remember taking one out of the library at college about six or seven years ago, it was about a cello player in Brighton I think? I don’t know, but from what I remember is was a sort of gay coming of age story? I might have dreamt it though because I can’t remember what the title was one bit. Aaaaaanyway I’m going to list five LGBT themed books which I am interested in reading very soon.

1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

This is the latest book I have bought and it just turned out that there are LGBT elements within it! I had no idea when I bought it, but then when it arrived I saw that it had won a Stonewall Book Award. I’ve heard absolutely amazing things about this book, but have steered clear of anything to do with the plot because I really want to go into this one without really knowing anything.

2. Boy Meets Boy

I heard about this book YEARS ago, and it was the first book I heard of that was primarily focused on gay characters. In recent months I have heard some amazing things about David Levithan’s work so I’m really interested in taking this book as a starting block for his work.

3. I’ll Give You The Sun

This book was recommended to be by a girl I work with. I believe it is this years winner of the Stonewall Book Award for YA fiction, an award that I didn’t even know existed until picking up Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe so I may have to take a deeper look into the past winners in my quest to read more things LGBT. From what I gather this book is about a set of twins who fall in love with the same guy and I’m sure it’s funny and heartbreaking and everything I love in a YA novel.

4. Brokeback Mountain

The film adaptation of this story ripped my heart to shreds, so naturally I want to relive that pain in word form, as you do. I have been interested in reading more short stories and I love the premise of this story. The film itself is extremely important in the evolution of LGBT culture, and I don’t hear many people talking about the book itself so I’m very much looking forward to reading this one.

5. More Than This

I am new to Patrick Ness’ writing, having just recently read A Monster Calls and falling in love with his work, so to learn that he has written a novel with LGBT elements really excites me! Everything I have heard about this story says that you should just walk into it blind, so I have NO IDEA what it is about, but I;m very excited to get my hands on this!

A book worth mentioning but I’m not sure if I’ll read but lets just bring attention to it anyway..

George

This is a CHILDREN’S book about a TRANSGENDER character. This is SO IMPORTANT. I am so excited that this book has been published and it will teach children that it is okay to be who you want to be and the whole idea of it just makes me so happy. I’m not sure if I’ll get round to it, given that it is a children’s novel, but who knows, maybe my curiosity will get the better of me.

9 thoughts on “5 LGBT Themed Books I Want To Read

  1. Ari & Dante and More Than This are both great books! What I loved about the homosexuality in More Than This is that it was so casual and matter-of-fact. Coming out books are great and important, but it’s also nice to see it already established in a way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nathannnnnjames

      I love it when the homosexuality is just a part of the character, and the story just gets on with it without it being a complete focus. I’m excited for More Than This most I think!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read so many LGBTQ+ books this year and I’ll Give You The Sun and Ari & Dante are two of my favourites! I’ve also read Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan, which I believe is a companion written to celebrate the 10 year anniversary of Boy Meets Boy, and that book was great. I’ll have to pick up Boy Meets Boy soon. If you’re interested in reading more diverse books, I think David Levithan’s titles are some of the best.

    I also recommend Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda for more of a light-hearted LGBT read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

