USA vs. UK – Book Cover Edition

I honestly cannot tell you how many times I’ve seen a beautiful book on the internet, and when I go into a British book store or on UK Amazon the cover is absolutely horrendous in comparison. So I thought it would be fun to look at a few UK and USA editions side by side and see which side of the Atlantic is home of aesthetically pleasing book royalty.

LEFT – USA / RIGHT – UK

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

As mentioned in my Station Eleven book review, I seriously cannot handle how beautiful the American cover is. The haunting isolation, the beautiful background, just everything about this book cover is stunning and magical. As for the UK edition, I like the bold typography and the simple detail, but when put next to the USA edition, it just seems to lack the haunting beauty and stunning colouration.

ROUND 1 WINNER – USA

Daughter Of Smoke And Bone by Laini Taylor

This is one case where I have an outright winner, and not particularly being I love one more than the other, but because I HATE one of them! I cannot stand the USA cover of this book, I think it looks cheesy and far too young adult for its own good. The UK edition has a lovely mysterious element to it, and although I find the UK edition to be quite generic and not particularly unique, I think it holds a mystery and beauty which well out weighs that of the USA cover.

ROUND 2 WINNER UK

(The Original) Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

With this one I am pretty biased with, as the UK editions of the books hold an extra special part in my childhood memories. I will forever love the original Bloomsbury editions of the Harry Potter series. The art is wonderful and I adore the colour schemes. With the US edition, yeah, I like it (I don’t appreciate the changing of the title of the book!) but it just isn’t the same to me. It seems very fan-arty, if that makes any sense?

ROUND THREE WINNER UK

A Darker Shade Of Magic by V.E. Scwab

Now this is another one that makes me so made that I’m stuck with the UK edition. I mean LOOK AT THAT USA EDITION! It is absolutely beautiful. The way it depicts Kell leaping from one London to another, I just find it to be wonderful. The UK edition is OK. I mean, I like the maps and the font, but I just can’t get on board with the silhouette of Kell. I am in love with the USA edition, and I need it in my life.

ROUND 4 WINNER – USA

This was a fun post to make, and I could have listed quite a few more! Let me know what you think about it in the comments and I might make this a regular feature on my blog! Hope you enjoy and let me know your thoughts on the BOOK COVER WARS.

4 thoughts on “USA vs. UK – Book Cover Edition

  1. It’s funny to read this, because often when I go online book shopping I’m upset at how beautiful UK editions of books are in comparison to USA versions. I think both have their beautiful covers, but for the most part I agree with all of your decisions. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s definitely a toss-up for many North American vs. UK covers. Ignorance is pretty much bliss in this sense (just so I don’t feel sad that I don’t own the alternative version). Although for ADSOM, I think there are some cool qualities in each that I wouldn’t mind either haha.

    One upcoming book that I [think] I prefer the UK version of is Patrick Ness’ The Rest of us Just Live Here. I mean, I think I’d like the glow-in-the-dark feature of the NA cover but the simplicity of the UK one just goes with all of his other titles!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nathannnnnjames

      That is my dream, I might start buying cheap paperbacks to actually read then once finished buy a stunning hard back of my favourite edition to display on my shelf haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

