Book Review: A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin

GOODREADS RATING – 4 Stars

Where do I begin?!

We all know what this book is about, given the unparalleled success of the HBO television series, Game of Thrones.

A Game of Thrones is the first in the A Song of Ice and Ice series by George R.R. Martin. It is the story of warring houses who all seek to gain the iron throne, and become the supreme leader of Westeros. We are told the story through character point of view chapters, which I think is absolutely wonderful and masterfully effective (although waiting for a certain character’s point of view to find out who your favorite character is fairing can be a little nerve wracking!).

I absolutely loved this book! I wish I had read the series before watching the television show, but never mind. I found that I warmed to characters in the book that I didn’t necessarily liked when watching them. Arya become an almost instant favorite of mine, whereas before I just considered her to be a kind of background character.

The POV format of the chapters was really interesting to me, the way other character’s stories are told, through the eyes of another, is brilliantly written (Little Finger and Drogo for example). You get to see the world of any different characters through the eyes of a few, which I loved.

I have to say though, my love for Jon Snow was pretty lacking when reading this first book, hopefully he will win me over throughout the other books in the series, but I found him to be quite…I don’t know how to describe it…timid? I don’t know, hopefully it was just a one off with this particular book.

I am going to get through a couple of shorter books from my TBR list before I tackle A Clash Of Kings, but I am very much looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Hopefully I’ll be caught up before the latest book comes out!

All in all I found this book to be incredibly written, with a beautiful world created around these deep and very interesting characters. I look forward to reading more of George R.R. Martin’s work.

Leave a Reply

