July Book Haul (Continued)

8. The Snow Child – Eowyn Ivey

The Snow Child is one of those books that I came across a couple of years ago, downloaded on my kindle, ALWAYS intended to read next, but then never got around to it.

It follows the story of a couple who moved to Alaska, and the female begins to see visions of a child they lost many years ago. That’s all I really know about it, but the concept really interests me and I have been putting off reading this for a while so I thought buying a physical copy would encourage me to get it read sooner. Really intrigued by this one so I can’t wait to see how the plot goes.

9. The Shock of the Fall – Nathan Filer

The Shock of the Fall is another one of those books that I have seen everywhere and has been at the top of many charts, but I have no idea what it is about (which is always a good reason to buy a book…right?).

From the blurb I can gather that it focuses on the mental illness of a male character, who I presume gets progressively worst as the book goes on? I could be completely wrong but we will find out soon enough!

10. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce

This book just sounds utterly charming and wonderful. It follows the adventures of Harold, who after embarking out on a simple stroll, ends up dealing with all manner of situations, the blurb stating that ‘All he knows is that he must keep walking. To save someone else’s life.’…who wouldn’t want to read this after a line like that?!

11. Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard

Here is another book I bought as a result of watching too many YouTube/BookTube videos. SO MANY people have hauled and reviewed this that I just couldn’t ignore it, plus the fact that it was sold out on Amazon when I went to buy it tells me that this is a super popular novel. It is essentially a fantasy novel with lots of magic and repression and I think it is going to be amazing, I cannot wait for this one.

12. The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden – Jonas Jonasson

When I came across Jonas Jonasson’s work very much by accident and read The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, I fell in love with his story telling. This is the second book of his that I own, and I hope it will be as hilarious, moving, and wonderfully written as the first. I think Jonasson deserves to be on the list of a lot of peoples favorite authors.

Sorry that this part is a little rushed and a different layout, being a newbie I’m still trying to figure out exactly how to work these posts and layouts! Forgive me.

Leave a Reply

