Big Books

So I’m currently reading A Game of Thrones, and it got me thinking, due to its sheer size. How do we feel about big books? I’m talking books 600/700+ plus? I absolutely love A Game of Thrones, it’s brilliant, but due to being a work and having reading to do for uni I don’t feel like I’m reading it quick enough and I’m anxious to start reading some other smaller novels. 

Does anyone else ever feel like, whilst they’re enjoying a good long book, that they’re missing out on reading two or three books in the time it takes to read that one?

I’m just babbling and thinking aloud but I am curious to see what others think?

4 thoughts on “Big Books

  1. For me, it all comes down to whether I’m enjoying the book or not. I’m the type of person who can only read one book at a time (I don’t understand why you wouldn’t just finish a book before starting a new one), so whether or not I feel like I’m wasting my time with one book depends on whether I like the book or not.

    If it’s a book that I’m enjoying then it won’t feel like 700+ pages (e.g. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix). And even if it takes me days and days to finish it, it’ll be worth it to stay in the world and keep reading, instead of picking up something else. If it’s a book that I don’t enjoy, then I’ll find myself wishing that I was reading something else. I usually stick with it because I rarely give up on books and I like to finish a book before starting the next. But I definitely start compiling a list of books I’m going to read next.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nathannnnnjames

      I feel the same way Jenna! I am enjoying A Games of Thrones, and I think its just the anticipation of having bought quite a substantial number of other short novels that makes me wish I could read it faster. But you are right, it is a very long book but I am absolutely loving it, I just wish I had more free time in the day to read it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

