My Book Wish List

I own quite a number of books, some I bought with the intention of reading as soon as I got it home, but for one reason or another have sat on a shelf unread, but those I will talk about in another post.

Here are five books that I really want to own/read and hopefully will in the near future!

1. The Girl Who Saved The King of Sweden – Jonas Jonasson

The-Girl-who-save-the-King-of-Sweden-300x107

I came across Jonas Jonasson’s work by accident when flicking through Amazon’s book shop on my Kindle. I came across The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared and downloaded it purely because the title compelled me to. I loved it, I fell in love with the characters and the story, and I was taken on an unexpected journey that I adore to this day. I will be looking at buying The Girl Who Saved The King of Sweden some point in the next couple of months.

2. Grace – Grace Coddington

This is the memoir of American Vogue’s creative directer. I haven’t so much as read a memoir before, and I was drawn to Grace when watching a documentary about Vogue entitled The September Issue. I fell in love with Grace’s style and passion, and was thrilled to hear that she had penned this book. Unfortunately it is a little on the pricey side, so I haven’t found justification for spending upwards of £20 on it yet, but hopefully I’ll feel compelled to splash out soon.

3. Letters of Note: Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audience

I just LOVE the idea of this book, a collection of letters from all over the world from all manner of people. It rages from Virginia Wolfe’s suicide note to a scone recipe from Queen Elizabeth. I find it a fascinating concept, to be invited into the world of these once private correspondence, and to have an insight into how these people thought, felt, and wrote at the time of these letters’ conception.

4. Reasons to Stay Alive – Matt Haig

I came across this book when a friend of mine reviewed it on Goodreads. It is a true story of Matt’s struggles with depression, and how he copes with living with this condition. From what I understand, it is an inspiring tale, and I hope to read this in the very near future, just for curiosities sake, and who knows, maybe this book is the one that will help remove the stigma of depression from society.

5. Very Good Lives – J.K. Rowling

This is the book adaptation of J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard commencement speech. I watched this on YouTube a few years ago and I was so inspired and touched by her words. Not only is she one of the greatest authors of our time, she is also a stunning speaker. I would love to read the speech and see how it differs from hearing it being spoken.

I could literally go on for days, listing book after book that I wish I had, but I have managed to limit myself to just five here, I will no doubt post other similar posts with other books listed, but for now here are the five that came to mind when I decided to compile the list. Comment if you’ve read any of these books or like me they still linger in your Amazon basket, and let me know what you think about them/this list, I’d love to hear from some of you!

Leave a Reply

