Uni Pre-October Reading

SAM_0770

As I mentioned in my previous post (Game of Thrones – 25% so far) I have quite a few books to read beore my second year of university starts in October. Most of them are classics, and I have to admit, I don’t think I’ve ever read a classic book in my life outside of high school/college.

These are just the books I have bought already, there are, I think, three more I still need to get, so the pile is ever growing!

I have ready two of these books already in the past few months, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte and Oroonoko by Aphra Benn. I was quite shocked at how much I enjoyed Wuthering Heights, and I’ll probably do a little review about it soon. Oroonoko was a little bit challenging though. Although it is short (only 77 pages not including the introduction and notes) I found it quite hard to follow and get into. Again, I’ll probably make a post about that one as well, purely to vent my frustrations about it no doubt.

The other books I’ll probably read in between my ‘Reading for Pleasure’ to-read list, and I’ll post reviews etc about them as I go through them. I’m really looking forward to Doyle’s The Sign of Four, which is the second book of the Sherlock Holmes series, hopefully it’ll spur me on to read the full collection! A couple of the books in there are plays, which I’ve never read outside of school either so it’ll be interesting to see how I find those.

I’ll keep updating my blog with my university reading and other reading adventures as I make my way through my lists. Until then, I have a lot of reading to do! Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Uni Pre-October Reading

  1. I was surprised by my reaction to Wuthering Heights too (I actually wrote about it on my blog under the title, “An Unexpected Reaction to Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights” in January 2014). The novel is brutal, but the writing is beautiful. The last line has stayed with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nathannnnnjames

      That’s how I felt. It was quite a battle to stick with it and I found some of the characters completely detestable but the writing really drew me in. I’ll have a look at your post, I’m glad I’m not the only one who was surprised. I felt going into it that I HAD to like it because of its status in the world of literature, so that was hanging over my head during the read, but I was glad to find that I enjoyed it of my own merit.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

